Lessons / Articles


No doubt, Nirvana has come to be regarded by musicians and fans of music as one of the most influential and important rock bands of the modern era.

Nirvana was founded by vocalist/guitarists Kurt Cobain and bassist  Krist Novoselic way back in 1987. The band had several drummers but the longest one who was with the band was the current vocalist/guitarists of Foo Fighter –  Dave Grohl.

In the span of 7 years, Nirvana only manage to release 3 studio albums but their songs,  music and their contribution are forever be part of the industry.

On this page, we will learn how to play the songs in those 3 Albums:

Studio albums

Bleach Album Tracklist

All songs written by Kurt Cobain, except where noted.

1989 vinyl release
  1. “Blew”
  2. “Floyd the Barber”
  3. “About a Girl”
  4. “School”
  5. “Love Buzz” (Robbie van Leeuwen)
  6. “Paper Cuts”
  7. “Negative Creep”
  8. “Scoff”
  9. “Swap Meet”
  10. “Mr. Moustache”
  11. “Sifting” – 5:22
1990 CD version
  1. “Big Cheese” (Cobain, Krist Novoselic) – 3:42 (originally the B-side of the “Love Buzz” single)
  2. “Downer”

(Note: the U.K. version of Bleach didn’t feature “Love Buzz” until the 1992 reissue, “Big Cheese” featuring in its place.)

2009 re-release (Pine Street Theatre live performance recorded February 9, 1990 – Portland, Oregon)
  1. “Intro”
  2. “School”
  3. “Floyd the Barber”
  4. “Dive” (Cobain, Novoselic)
  5. “Love Buzz” (van Leeuwen)
  6. “Spank Thru”
  7. “Molly’s Lips” (Eugene Kelly, Frances McKee)
  8. “Sappy”
  9. “Scoff”
  10. “About a Girl”
  11. “Been a Son”
  12. “Blew”

Nevermind Album Tracklist

Here’s a complete track listing of the album Nevermind. If you’re into Nirvana, you may want to bookmark this page. We will be linking future tutorials for some of the songs below like Lithium, In Bloom etc.

In Utero Album Tracklist

All songs written by Kurt Cobain except where noted.

  1. “Serve the Servants” – 3:36
  2. “Scentless Apprentice” (Cobain, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic) – 3:48
  3. “Heart-Shaped Box” – 4:41
  4. “Rape Me” – 2:50
  5. “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle” – 4:09
  6. “Dumb” – 2:32
  7. “Very Ape” – 1:56
  8. “Milk It” – 3:55
  9. “Pennyroyal Tea” – 3:37
  10. “Radio Friendly Unit Shifter” – 4:51
  11. “tourette’s” – 1:35
  12. “All Apologies” – 3:51
Bonus track on non-American pressings
  1. “Gallons of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through the Strip” (Cobain, Grohl, Novoselic) – 7:28